Ake Festival 2015: Day 1

image

One of the lessons I learned from my Dubai trip is to be deliberate in my story telling. Before that trip, I wanted to blog real time. However, for some really strange reason, I managed to convince myself to not do it, to wait till I returned from the trip before I put pen to paper…eek, bad decision. Because 3 weeks later, look who’s struggling to write about that awesome, awesome place??

Anyway, I digress…

This week, my feet have made it’s way to Abeokuta- the rock city, Ogun state, in South-West Nigeria. Abeokuta (loosely translated from Yoruba to English as under the rock) is about an hour by road from Lagos. I’m here volunteering at the Ake Arts & Book festival 2015. The festival running in its third edition with this year’s theme as ‘Engaging the Fringe’, is the brainchild of Lola Shoneyin, the amazing author of the novel, ‘The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives’ and daughter-in-law to Wole Soyinka.

I’m very excited to be here, firstly because I love books, of all shapes and sizes. I also like to hang around Literati and mehn, this event sure boasts a considerable number. From Nnedi Okorafor to Taiye Selasi, Zuliswa Wanner, Toni Kan, Binyavanga Wainaina, A. Igoni Barrett, Chris Abani, Molara Wood, Emmanuel Iduma, Dami Ajayi, Jumoke Verrisimo,  the list is endless. The event will feature art exhibitions, book chats, panel discussions, plays, workshops and networking on high fleek. Access more info here- http://www.akefestival.org

I’m thankful for work that allows me to take time-off to pursue other passions of mine. Thankful for life that provides us opportunity with every moment.

I’ll try to blog everyday I’m here, in real time; almost as it happens. You can follow here on the blog or on my Instagram page- @notiacs. I’ll be sure to wrap up my trip to Abeokuta with a trip to Olumo rock, so look out for that as well.

Peace, just peace all around, because the World needs a lot of it…😎😎

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

